hopperbach


Dennis dissects McClellan

Here’s a great take from recovering celeb-lib Dennis Miller on Scott McClellan and his new book. This is from a recent interview with Bill O’ Rielly:

O’REILLY: OK. Let’s get over to old Scott McClellan. Big interview here on Monday with him. Thousands of e-mails. We’re going to read some of them at the end of the broadcast tonight. What did you think?

MILLER: You know, I didn’t think that Scott McClellan was in the loop when he imagined himself to be the knot in the loop, quite frankly. I think he was a mercy hire. I think his life is sort of like a Kafka novella: it all happens out of earshot. I think whenever anybody’s around him, they probably, you know, tell him what he wants to hear. Bush did, Rove did. Now I’m sure Katie Couric will. But his whole life happens out of earshot.

Trust me, Scott, it’s not a pretty picture what everybody is saying about you. I know you’re never going to hear. It’s turned into some weird “Twilight Zone” episode for you. But to say that you’re an empty suit would do a disservice to clothes hangers, my friend. You know, you’re not all that respected by anybody.

O’REILLY: Well, that’s a good point. I said that to him. I said look, you know, forget about your former friends in conservative circles. I mean, they think you’re a traitor just like Bob Dole said. And your newfound friends are just going to use you. And then, you know, they don’t want to hear about you anymore. And the proof of that is the blogs. I mean, if you go to the far-left blogs, they hate this guy. I mean, they hate Bush, and they say, you see, but we hate him, too. And you know, he’s not getting any new friends.

But, you know, you can’t read people’s minds. I thought McClellan came across — I don’t think he was a bad man. I told him, “I don’t think you’re a bad man.” I thought he came across as weak, you know, and I think he was manipulated by his publisher.

I absolutely believe Ari Fleischer when Fleischer said: “Look, I talked to McClellan. He started off to write a book, to correct the record, stick up for Bush. They got him in a vortex. They, being a publisher, they convinced him that he wasn’t going to sell any copies, that if he were negative, he’d sell more, and that’s what he did.”

You know, I can’t be positive, but from talking with him, talking to Fleischer, I think that’s what happened.

MILLER: I don’t think he’s a bad guy. I think the best thing he has going for him is his utter inconsequentiality. He should hit his knees and thank God he was never a great enough man to actually have to make any of these decisions that now he deems propaganda.

He’s a guy who hangs around the periphery. He’s like the old New Yorker cartoons said: He’s the Uh-oh Squad. Bad stuff happens and he goes “Uh-oh.” He’s Margaret Dumont. I don’t think it’s propaganda.

I think if McCain wants to win this thing, he ought to do a little more propaganda. He ought to travel around with a tote board behind them, reminding everybody that it’s been 2,458 days since 9/11 and we haven’t had a terror attack on this soil.

Now, Scott McClellan, all of them can deem Bush a failure. That’s all I want out of this movement is to keep it from coming onto the home ground and we’ve done that. It’s not — there are worse failures.

O’REILLY: That’s absolutely, you know, a great point. Dennis, thanks very much. We’ll see you next Wednesday.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

